“Let Me See Again”

Don R. Elly, M.Div.

What an insightful (pun intended) request Bartimaeus makes of Jesus when asked, “What can I do for you?”

Placing myself in the positon of Bartimaeus in the story Mark tells us I know I would probably be sitting blind by the roadside. If the crowd’s reaction had not shut me down, my shyness would probably have gotten in my way of speaking up. There is also, if I am honest, a deeper reason. It is hard for me to speak up and identify what I really want when loved ones ask me what I might want for birthday, Christmas, anniversary, etc. Exploring even deeper I know that part of my problem is that I have already gotten what I want and delaying gratification to wait for a gift is very difficult.

Why? It probably relates to the anxiety that if I ask for it I probably won’t get it. I remember growing up and my parents with the best of intentions would get me what they thought I needed rather than honor the Christmas and birthday lists we made out and gave to them and sent to Santa.

So Bartimaeus is first and foremost a model for what has to happen to become a disciple of Jesus. He may be blind, but he is not speechless, or easily cowed by the crowd. Told to shut up, Bartimaeus speaks up even more loudly. In doing so he paradoxically proclaims who Jesus is. “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!”…”Son of David, have mercy on me!” This has become a prayer, when said quietly it can bring calm and centeredness. Here it is an expression of faith and a hopeful request for healing. Bartimaeus, as a result, is the last person to be healed by Jesus on the way to Jerusalem and the cross.

Secondly, when Jesus calls him we are given a priceless picture of response. Hearing the crowd say, “Take heart; get up, (Jesus) is calling you”, Bartimaeus throws off his cloak and standing up pushes his way through the crowd (that is my vision) to Jesus. What a contrast this sightless man is to the learned young man whose possessions possess him. Peter, James and John each have their own agendas and expectations of Jesus (God) that resist being fully open to God. What might I need to throw off to follow Jesus?

Finally his request itself, “Let me see again” is a haunting request. Was Bartimaeus at one time a sighted man who sat in darkness isolation waiting for and praying for God. These questions do not have answers, but reflecting on them can make us more committed disciples and help us to see again the fullness of life offered in Jesus.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, when you come walking down the road of my life may I like Bartimaeus speak up, throw off what keep me from fully seeing you and God’s vision. May I responding as he did discover anew your vison for my life. Amen.

October 25, 2015 Cycle B
22nd Sunday of Pentecost
Job 42:1-6,10-17 ; Psalm 34:1-8(19-22); Hebrew 7:23-28; *Mark 10: 46-52

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment